User is prompted to fast-switch (no intermediate "disconnect" step) between two different remoteStorage-enabled accounts or given the alternative choice to go back to the main application view.
Addendum to #6; steps to reproduce:
1. Make sure you've already gone through auth for inspektor to connect to your storage provider
2. Visit <https://inspektor.5apps.com/connect>
Actual results:
User is redirected to <https://inspektor.5apps.com/> (the main application view)
Expected results:
User is prompted to fast-switch (no intermediate "disconnect" step) between two different remoteStorage-enabled accounts or given the alternative choice to go back to the main application view.
There is currently no way to have two different accounts connected with remoteStorage.js, so we cannot implement this at the moment.
There is currently no way to have two different accounts connected with remoteStorage.js, so we cannot implement this at the moment.
raucao
added the feature label 2026-06-15 09:49:49 +00:00
raucao
changed title from /connect when already logged in redirects to main application view to Connect multiple accounts at once2026-06-15 09:49:59 +00:00
raucao
changed title from Connect multiple accounts at once to Connect multiple accounts2026-06-15 09:50:04 +00:00
Right now, /connect is only valid for users who haven't gone through auth, and /disconnect is only valid for those who have.
/disconnect will allow those who have to disconnect, whereas those who are already disconnected are redirected to /connect and prompted to "Connect your storage".
/connect will allow those who haven't gone through auth to do so, whereas for those who already have, users get punted to the main application view.
This bug is about whether or not it's reasonable for a user to expect /connect to give them the same/similar "Connect your storage" prompt even if they've already gone through auth, and what the effect of that form should be. However, this bug is not about allowing users to connect to multiple accounts. (I don't think that would be a very good idea to implement.)
For any user who hasn't yet connected to any storage space, the prompt should continue to behave the way it does now.
For a user alice@example.com who has already connected to her storage, hitting /connect should:
explain that she's alice@example.com com and inspektor already knows it
present an option (i.e. a button) of (a) of disconnecting from this identity/storage space
present the option to (b) enter a different identity/storage space
present the option to (c) just return to the main application view
To clarify:
Right now, /connect is only valid for users who haven't gone through auth, and /disconnect is only valid for those who have.
/disconnect will allow those who have to disconnect, whereas those who are already disconnected are redirected to /connect and prompted to "Connect your storage".
/connect will allow those who haven't gone through auth to do so, whereas for those who already have, users get punted to the main application view.
This bug is about whether or not it's reasonable for a user to expect /connect to give them the same/similar "Connect your storage" prompt even if they've already gone through auth, and what the effect of that form should be. However, this bug is not about allowing users to connect to multiple accounts. (I don't think that would be a very good idea to implement.)
For any user who hasn't yet connected to any storage space, the prompt should continue to behave the way it does now.
For a user alice@example.com who has already connected to her storage, hitting /connect should:
- explain that she's alice@example.com com and inspektor already knows it
- present an option (i.e. a button) of (a) of disconnecting from this identity/storage space
- present the option to (b) enter a different identity/storage space
- present the option to (c) just return to the main application view
The effect of choosing B and entering alice@kosmos.example should be to disconnect from alice@example.com and connect to alice@kosmos.example.
colby
changed title from Connect multiple accounts to /connect redirects to main application view when already logged in2026-06-15 17:51:55 +00:00
colby
changed title from /connect redirects to main application view when already logged in to /connect form not accessible when storage is already connected2026-06-15 17:52:28 +00:00
In that case, the current behavior is already correct. Users are not supposed to use URLs for UI actions. You can just click "disconnect" and then connect with a different account. The app always shows which account is connected in the top left corner.
In that case, the current behavior is already correct. Users are not supposed to use URLs for UI actions. You can just click "disconnect" and then connect with a different account. The app always shows which account is connected in the top left corner.
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
Addendum to #6; steps to reproduce:
Actual results:
User is redirected to https://inspektor.5apps.com/ (the main application view)
Expected results:
User is prompted to fast-switch (no intermediate "disconnect" step) between two different remoteStorage-enabled accounts or given the alternative choice to go back to the main application view.
There is currently no way to have two different accounts connected with remoteStorage.js, so we cannot implement this at the moment.
/connect when already logged in redirects to main application viewto Connect multiple accounts at onceConnect multiple accounts at onceto Connect multiple accountsTo clarify:
Right now, /connect is only valid for users who haven't gone through auth, and /disconnect is only valid for those who have.
/disconnect will allow those who have to disconnect, whereas those who are already disconnected are redirected to /connect and prompted to "Connect your storage".
/connect will allow those who haven't gone through auth to do so, whereas for those who already have, users get punted to the main application view.
This bug is about whether or not it's reasonable for a user to expect /connect to give them the same/similar "Connect your storage" prompt even if they've already gone through auth, and what the effect of that form should be. However, this bug is not about allowing users to connect to multiple accounts. (I don't think that would be a very good idea to implement.)
For any user who hasn't yet connected to any storage space, the prompt should continue to behave the way it does now.
For a user alice@example.com who has already connected to her storage, hitting /connect should:
The effect of choosing B and entering alice@kosmos.example should be to disconnect from alice@example.com and connect to alice@kosmos.example.
Connect multiple accountsto /connect redirects to main application view when already logged in/connect redirects to main application view when already logged into /connect form not accessible when storage is already connectedIn that case, the current behavior is already correct. Users are not supposed to use URLs for UI actions. You can just click "disconnect" and then connect with a different account. The app always shows which account is connected in the top left corner.